thedailyinquisition

Just another WordPress.com site

Goin’ Fishing: The Baited Article

Frowny Face. I just finished publishing this article only to have it consumed by the universe, never to be seen again. Just know that it was the most amazing article ever written. Nothing previously written or that ever will be written could compare to my expose on fishing…now I have to settle for this second article, which is like it’s redneck cousin. Sigh…

There is something magical about fishing. I like to wake up while it’s still dark out and drive down to a jetty somewhere before the sun can have a chance to heat up the water. I cast in my line and, by the time I’ve caught my first fish, the sunrise is gleaming off its shiny scales.

I know a lot of people who don’t like fishing. Actually, I know a lot of people who just don’t like the outdoors in general. They somehow think that they are too good for getting their hands dirty. I’ve got news for those people. There may come a day or a disaster that causes each person to be able to fend for themselves. This means knowing how to forage for food, water, hunt, fish, and stay warm and dry. If, and I know this is a big if, you are ever in a situation like that, your lack of understanding of the outside world and how to utilize it will be your own demise. I find it infinitely more intelligent to learn these skills, even if it’s just reading it on the internet, but hopefully actually getting some hands-on experience.

Of course there are others who love the outdoors, but think of hunting and fishing as evil. Many of them propose that we do not hunt or fish and instead just buy food from the market or that we simply stop eating meat all together. If you’ve read any of my earlier articles you’ll know that I am all for human evolution. But evolution takes a long time. Depriving your body of meat, which contrary to what others will have you think is not only part of vital functioning but is also the reason your body is evolved like it is, is not the answer. Don’t misunderstand. If you are a vegan or vegetarian, I am not insulting your lifestyle. I would like nothing more than for you to stuff yourselves with cabbage until you’re blue in the face. What I’m saying is that in my opinion (and backed by scientific evidence), we are omnivores and our bodies rely on the ingestion of meat. With that said, the most important thing that a hunter or fisherman can do is have a respect for the environment and the creatures in it. They deserve to live in the world just as much as you. Every time I fish, I do so with the utmost respect for the fish, the environment, and the regulations that govern.

Going back to the supermarket, as I’ve heard a lot of people confused as to why I would fish when I could just go buy it at the store. I don’t know where these fish are coming from. I don’t know the conditions they lived in, the processing, or their diet. Going down to the ocean and throwing my line out, I get a peace of mind that can’t be replaced by a “manager’s special” sale. I know where my fish are coming from, I know what they are eating, and I am the only one who processes them before I eat.

If I haven’t won you over concerning fishing, it’s okay. To be honest there are some downsides. For one, there is the smell of the bait you’re using and the sliminess of it on your hands. Personally, it doesn’t bother me, but I know a lot of women (hopefully) will say it’s “icky”. Also, there are the sunburns. If you like to stay out and fish for half a day or more like I do, sun screen is very important. I used to think I was too macho for it until I burned so bad I looked like a robot when I walked. Touche’ Sun. Touche.

In any case, even if you don’t appreciate the art of fishing, at least try to learn some basic outdoor survival skills and try to take a walk outside every now and then. I know it’s hard to put down your iPad and do something that involves the word “outside”, but it will be fun. I promise.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Goin’ Fishing: The Baited Article

  1. Carrie Z on said:

    “In any case, even if you don’t appreciate the art of fishing, at least try to learn some basic outdoor survival skills and try to take a walk outside every now and then. I know it’s hard to put down your iPad and do something that involves the word “outside”, but it will be fun. I promise.”

    Truer words were never spoken!
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

