thedailyinquisition

Just another WordPress.com site

Teddy and Manson

So I’m just finishing reading one biography and heading into another one. The last one was about Charles Manson and the new one is about Theodore Roosevelt. A bit of a contrast here….

The Manson was more of an impulsive intrigue to know more about his infamy. What I really learned is that he was a weirdo lying coward with multiple complexes. That being said, the guy knew how to stick up for himself and was quite brilliant when he wasn’t being an idiot.

The second was driven by a need to identify with what people consider a great man. It just so happens that Teddy and I share the same birthday and several other ideals so I wanted to learn a bit more about him. So far, I’m liking the cut of his jib.

The contrast between the two men gave me a lot to ponder on the values and substance of people. In an age when things are getting easier and easier I find it unfortunate that life has become so lackadaisical and we desire more impulse and instant gratification, leaving behind the very beneficial virtues of hardship and extroversion. I am making it my personal goal to put as many obstacles in my way as possible. Not to make everything harder on myself, but to be able to overcome those obstacles and climb that much higher. Of course I’m not talking about mundane things. You won’t see me trap my breakfast inside a locked cage that guarded by a lion. But where I see beneficial ways to create constructive obstacles, I will try to implement them. I challenge you to do the same at least once a week. I also challenge any of you do a swordfight on the wings of a prop plane…because it sounds like it would be a cool story….

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Teddy and Manson

  1. You need to remind me about the challenge, I forget a lot. (Not related to the weed, im sure) One thing I’m going to do, I’m not sure if it fits with your challenge, but one of these days I’m going to play the “happy” song while riding around town on my wheelchair, and I’m going to wheelchair dance. Figure it will be fun and make people smile. I need to get some portable speakers and learn some moves though…

    • I’ll break my legs just to be able to join you. I’ve never broken a leg before. I’m sure it will be a good experience.

      • I’ve always sucked at dancing, but I: have to use one hand to drive, the only dance my legs will do is spasms, so basically only my torso and one arm have to actually dance. That can’t be too hard right?

  2. I think I did this before I even read your post. I just signed up for NaNoWriMo Camp to work on my novel for the month of April. On top of that, I start a new course at online university in Forensic Sciences on Monday which will take up about 7 hours per week of studying & classes. Add to this I am working on the appeal of my rejection for disability benefits which needs to be finished before the end of April. Hmmmm . . . am I a glutton for punishment?

Leave a Reply

